there’s an elephant in my blog

st-pancras-iiOr – how I tried to ignore St Pancras Station but failed miserably.  Difficult as it may be to imagine, but before I started writing this blog I actually had a bit of a plan.  Nothing cast in stone you understand but certainly a loose framework on which I could hang my musings and opinions.  In short it could be summarised by the following sentence; “talk about the London I love, without doing the obvious tourist traps but DON’T be willfully obscure”.  And I hope, thus far, I have stuck to this mantra.  But I’ve got a problem and it’s a bleedin’ big one, one that is parked between Midland Road & Pancras Road and received more publicity on it’s re-opening than Paris Hilton getting caught shagging George Michael on Hampstead Heath.  Part of that early planning even included a list of potential “stuff” to talk about, and high on that list was St Pancras Station.  I even dragged The Cabbette off one Sunday before Xmas to take a few photos and enjoy the delights some other London stuff.  But ever since I just haven’t been been able to bring myself to talk about it.  “It’s too obvious”, I thought, “everyone knows everything about it” I decided, “no one will want to read more odes to it’s magnificence” I justified to myself.  All of which are true.

st-pancras-signSo instead of banging on about the magnificence of the redevelopment and how things like this make me proud to be a Londoner, I’ll just write about how I shouldn’t really be talking about it in the first place.  Clever, huh?

I have no shame – me in londonist.com.

7 thoughts on “there’s an elephant in my blog

  1. Hello !!! 😉
    My name is Piter Kokoniz. oOnly want to tell, that your blog is really cool
    And want to ask you: is this blog your hobby?
    Sorry for my bad english:)
    Thank you:)
    Your Piter Kokoniz, from Latvia

    • Piter – thanks for visiting my site and for your kind comments. The blog is a hobby, and my biggest passion these days! And there is no need to apologise about your English, it’s perfectly good, and certainly much better than my Latvian!!

      Richard – aka The Cabbies Capital

  2. Hello!
    Very Interesting post! Thank you for such interesting resource!
    PS: Sorry for my bad english, I’v just started to learn this language 😉
    See you!
    Your, Raiul Baztepo

Leave a Reply

