building of the week #2, 66 Venn St, SW4……

venn-street-iii….otherwise known as the Clapham Sorting Office, or originally the ‘Postmens Office’ built in 1902. (no research required for that bit of information, it says it on the building)  It’s quite a splendid Sorting Office though isn’t it?  Tucked away behind the High St, in the same street as the Clapham Picture House, it hides itself quite well and is one of those places that you just wouldn’t pass on a day to day basis.

I can’t tell you much more about the building or why it was built in such a grand fashion, even Google couldn’t help with this one, but whatever the reason, I think we should all be glad that it was built with a bit of style and panache.

venn-street-ivvenn-street-ii

And then, after finishing my little photo session, I headed off with the aim of going to north London to ‘do’ what should have been this weeks building of the week.  But 3 things happened; 1) I got distracted by the views of Battersea Power Station I display below, 2) I went off down Thessaly Road to try and find the recording studio that The Who used to own (something I’d heard about on Bob Elms or Danny Baker, can’t remember which) and 3) Whilst mooching around Thessaly Road I got offered a cash job from Dial-a-Cab going to Canary Wharf.  So I didn’t find the recording studio and I didn’t get to ‘do’ the building I’d originally planned on as building of the week.  But I hope you agree that 66 Venn Street is a more than adequate substitute, let’s call it the David Fairclough of buildings.  As akways, click on any photo for a bigger version.

lurking behind the houses in Clapham Manor St

lurking behind the houses in Clapham Manor St

showing itself in a better light from the railway bridge, Larkhall Rise

showing itself in a better light from the railway bridge, Larkhall Rise

Leave a Reply

