building of the week #6, Mary Ward House, 5-7 Tavistock Place, WC1

mary-ward

Built in the late 19th century, there are clues to the exact date in the pictures below, this marvellous building was financed by John Passmore Edwards but the inspiration behind the building and it’s use came from novelist & social reformer, Mary Ward.  Only named Mary Ward House after her death in 1921 this building was a pioneering education centre and included the first classrooms equipped for children with disabilities.

I don’t really think there’s much point me trying to tell you too much about the building as there are much better efforts out there on t’interweb. (see links below)  All I will say is that it is currently a conference centre and, according to their website, a regular bit part player in films & TV shows.  As with all my buildings, I thoroughly recommend a visit.

Links;

The Mary Ward House Trust

English Buildings Blog

4 thoughts on “building of the week #6, Mary Ward House, 5-7 Tavistock Place, WC1

  1. Hi,
    My maiden name was Heath an I attended this school in 1954-1957 I arrived in a green bus and was taken home at the end of the day in same bus, had the time of my life there.

    • Dorothy

      Thanks a lot for taking the time to leave a comment, sorry I haven’t replied sooner! If you do see this message, I’d love you to get back in touch again. I’d love to hear more about your time at Mary Ward House, feel free to drop me an email richardcudlip@yahoo.co.uk – sounds like you might have some great stories to tell!!

      Best regards,

      Richard

  2. Many years ago, as a nervous new university lecturer, I had an office in the Mary Ward Centre. We also held classes there.

    This was because the University London college I worked for, Birkbeck College, was having new accommodation added and our department was housed in the Centre pro tem.

    This was my introduction to working in London and left an indelible impression.

Leave a Reply

