I say it best, when I say nothing at all……

…….to paraphrase the mighty Ronan Keating.  Just to clarify, he isn’t mighty, I just used that phrase as an opening gambit – a way of introducing a post that will really be about bugger all.  Like Ronan Keating’s career in fact.  This blog has been a pleasure to write from day one and stuff has just been there ready for me to do.  It’s like I’ve been carrying around a constantly overfull cup of tea and someone keeps bumping into me, the overflow spilling into the saucer that is this blog.  It’s not that it hasn’t taken a bit of hard work at times, a bit of effort to go back to a place that needed a photo or a bit more thinking about.  But pretty much everything I’ve done to date, has just easily come out onto the page (PC/Mac/Web Page, whatever) without me having to try that hard.  Anyone that knows me will realise that this has been a good thing, because when things require real effort, that’s when I start to struggle.  And I have been struggling a bit in the last week or so.  Not for things to talk about you understand, I have a notebook in the cab that is nearly full of stuff and I have even organised some of this stuff in a bit of software called Things to try & help me make sense of it all.  Looking at Things now, I have 8 “Blog posts to be published” and 47 “Blog ideas” plus other sections that deal with real life and even a bit of fantasy (ideas that I think might earn me some money).  So my blog should be full of some of this stuff on a regular basis.  But none of it is quite ready (whatever that means) to go out there into the big wide world, I do have some standards after all.  I’m sure I’m not the first blogger to hit some sort of wall, and how appropriate that I hit it in the week of the London Marathon.  I’ve had a busy week and done lots of stuff that I could talk about, there’s my experiment with the Heathrow Feeder Park and it’s rabbits, there’s the ongoing fightback by black cab drivers to stop mini cabs taking over the big central London venues.  I’ve even done lots of WORK.  But none of this has seemed exactly right for Cabbies Capital, so I now find myself wondering what is right and am I just looking for excuses to do nowt?  So while I have my mini crisis, I am going to present to all you lovely people a selection of random images taken by me since I started Cabbies Capital – think of it as my BBC Test Card.  While you all do that, I’m going to sort through all my stuff that is in Things.

11 thoughts on “I say it best, when I say nothing at all……

  1. This is still one of the best eclectic blogs from London . . .
    witty, informative and incisive.
    Hey it’s even entertaining when you have writers block or should that be Cabbie’s Cramp?

  2. ‘Defend myself – why would I want to do that?’

    Lol you just did you jerk lol

    He doesn’t pay charitable donations out of his own pocket (and he isn’t actually a multi millionaire either) he works along side the likes of Bob Geldof and Bono and does things like climb Kilimanjaro and raise millions of pounds doing it. You don’t have to be a millionare to be charitable.

    I couldn’t give a damn whether you like him or not there arre alot of people in the world I’m not keen on but I don’t go around saying there careers are buggar all when you cannot say that about his.

    Thanks for making me laugh and brightening my day!!!

    HMMM THE WORD JEALOUS SPRINGS TO MIND WELL I WOULD BE TO I GUESS IF I WERE A ‘TAXI DRIVER’ LOL GROW UP!!! Don’t bother replying I have nothing else to say well except thanks for the laugh!!!! 🙂

    • Sam, I am more than happy to have a dialogue with you if you are prepared to maintain some sort of civility. But it seems clear that is beyond you. You’re the one that jumped all over what was essentially a passing comment, I was just responding to you. I’m not defending my position as a) there really isn’t anything to defend and b) I don’t care what you, personally, think about me. But I do enjoy a bit of banter, so here goes;

      Purely for the sport of it and my own amusement I will point out a couple of things. If Ronan isn’t a multi-millionaire then what has he done with all the money from the gazillions of records you took the trouble to tell me he’d sold? Surely you would expect someone who’s sold so many records to have a bit of spare cash he could give to charity. I may only be a taxi driver, thanks for pointing that out for me, but even I can occasionally put my hand in my pocket & give some money to charity. You’re not painting Saint Ronan in a good light if he doesn’t give any of his own money to charity. Don’t you think that’s a bit mean of him? And for someone who claims not to care about whether I like Saint Ronan or not, you’re doing a great job of proving otherwise.

      As I say, I’m more than happy to carry on this dialogue – but do try & keep it civil.

      Richard (a poor, jealous cabbie)

  3. Don’t worry, it happens.

    From 2002 I was such a prolific blogger until a few things happened to me in 2005 and, to cut a long story medium-length, I ended up deleting the whole thing in a moment of self-help purging. It’s taken me four years to (slowly) begin dipping my toe in the blogging waters again.

    I guess what I’m trying to say is, if you blog for yourself, don’t feel the pressure to keep going for the sake of it. Take a break, leave it for a while, even delete it all if you must, and pick it up again later if you feel like it.

    You’re an interesting writer, and you’ll always have people following your exploits.

  4. ‘I say it best, when I say nothing at all…….to paraphrase the mighty Ronan Keating. Just to clarify, he isn’t mighty, I just used that phrase as an opening gambit – a way of introducing a post that will really be about bugger all. Like Ronan Keating’s career in fact.’

    Just to clarify…….4 number 1 albums with Boyzone 4 number one solo albums, 3 solo number 1 singles, all the rest top 5 excluding 3 which were still high charters, 6 number 1 singles with Boyzone all the rest were top 10 with exception of 2 which again were still high charters. In fact Ronan keating holds the record for the most consecutive top 10 hits.

    HARDLY CALL THAT BUGGAR ALL WOULD YOU? THAT’S JUST AS A SINGER IN HIS OWN RIGHT SO NEVER MIND THE HITS HE HAS WRITTEN FOR OTHER PEOPLE THAT HAVE GONE TO NUMBER 1 IN OTHER COUNTRIES TOO. DO A BIT OF RESEARCH BEFORE YOU START SLANDERING PEOPLE. OH AND HE RAN IN THE MARATHON YOU MENTIONED IN YOUR ‘BLOG’ OH AND HE RAN IT LAST YEAR OH AND LETS NOT FORGET THE 1000’S AND 1000’S OF £’S HE HAS RAISED FOR PEOPLE WHO HAVE SUFFERED FROM CANCER AND THIRD WORLD’S STARVING CHILDREN………………………I WON’T BE VISITING YOUR BLOG AGAIN AND WILL ADVISE OTHERS NOT TO EITHER…….SO NO POINT IN TRYING TO DEFEND YOURSELF THERE IS NO DEFENCE FOR THAT..GET A LIFE YOU SAD MUPPET!!!

    • Defend myself – why would I want to do that? I don’t like Ronan Keating, I like Boyzone even less. That is allowed you know, it’s called having an opinion and exercising my right to free speech. As for slander, I think you need to look up the definition of that word in a dictionary.

      I’m glad Ronan is so charitable, as I hope we all would be if we were multi-millionaires. What all this has to do with one throwaway line I used is still beyond me. And despite your opinion to the contrary, I have a very nice life thanks one that doesn’t involve the vile music of either Boyzone or Saint Ronan. I once took Stephen Gately from Harrods to Selfridges, he seems like a very nice chap, I still think he’s a talentless nobody though.

  5. You’re doing a great job, Richard.

    I have the opposite problem as you, I have plenty of ideas I can’t wait to write about – but there is just not enough time in the day to spend on it. Anglotopia is my my baby and it’s all I want to work on.

    Whatever you end up doing, I love reading about your adventures as a cabbie.

  6. I’m there, too, at the moment. If that helps?
    I want to write, but other things keep getting in the way. I feel the need to take care of my blog and keep it going, keep “nurturing” it – but I don’t feel like writing something quick, just for the hell of it. It must feel right.

    PS – I liked your teacup analogy…

  7. I think most writers (and regular bloggers surely deserve the title) experience fallow periods when either they have nothing to say or the words refuse to flow.

    The best thing is to regard it as a sort of holiday and to enjoy it. It provides time to look around and take stock and perhaps to think of new things to try, new places to see.

    Soon enough the words will come, unbidden, in response to their own mysterious summons.

    • Thanks for the encouraging words. There’s plenty up there, just a questioning of organising it in a reasonably useful way!! Think I’ll take that holiday now…..

Leave a Reply

