places in wot I ‘ave aboded in that there London….

…..or how I’m desperate to prove that I’m a proper Londoner.  Partly prompted by a “conversation” with Mrs Cabbie over who was the mostest London out of the two of us, which of course I won, I decided to map out where I have lived in our great metropolis.  I will need to revisit that “conversation” with Mrs Cabbie properly at some point, as it brought up some interesting questions about what counts as “proper”.  Is it being born and/or raised in a London postcode?  And do the all parts of the London Boroughs count?  Because you can be in a London Borough, but not have a “London” postcode, just look at parts of Brent, Barking & Dagenham, Redbridge, Richmond and pretty much all of Bexley and Bromley. (and despite not really being London, they are the ones I blame for having Boris the Buffoon as Mayor)  I feel a long post about this subject brewing and I haven’t even mentioned the weighting that should be given over where you were born over where you have lived.  This could get messy.

But back to the main subject for today; places where I have lived in London.  And it seems I’ve covered a fair bit of south London, doing that young persons thing of moving from shared houses to first flat with girlfriend, to finally settling down in SW17.  If you can be bothered to click on the “View larger map” link at the bottom of the map, you’ll get a better view of my pan-London living and be able to see the list of places I’ve lived, to which I may add some photos and words at some point.  Starting in Pimlico, where I was born in Johnson House in 1968, we then went to Beckenham and lived next door to David Bowie before my sojourn in Surrey began, before finally heading back into town from the early 90s onwards.  I’m not going to talk in any more detail now, as I plan to revisit the more exciting places I’ve lived (have I mentioned that I lived next door to David Bowie??) over the coming weeks/months/years.  But for now, I’ll leave you all with (another) may to peruse and, possibly, enjoy.

7 thoughts on “places in wot I ‘ave aboded in that there London….

  1. Jackpot Mr Cudlip, I am even sufficiently exercised to respond. I suppose I do “love to view myself as a Londoner” (ouch). One of the thrills of this great city is its constantly shifting identity. In this context, I reckon, conventional views of ‘belonging’ (e.g. where you were born, how long you’ve lived there) are probably redundant in any case. You are as London as you feel. But then I would say that wouldn’t I.

    • Make you right mate – as you may have read in some of the other comments, I am allowing people to award themselves the status of “earned Londoner”. You’ve hit the nail on the head really, London moves on too quickly for anyone to “belong” anyway.

      See you soon sir…..

  2. hi richard i am a friend of Paul Birkbeck and wondered if you could help us with a little video promo we are making for ukrainian service at bush house – we want to know how much it would cost to hire you and your cab between 5 and 7 this thursday to do peice to camera in side then drive around central london filming. we have chosen this time so the light is slnating in through the cab windows.
    we are lookign for a classic black london cab with no advertising on the outside
    if you can call me with a quote that would be fantastic. thanks vivienne

  3. Nice idea “earned Londoner” 🙂

    Interesting too your point that people can live in a place for decades and still say they are “from” somewhere else. I was brought up in Brighton and remember it with fondness but that’s the past. We had an ancient Snakes and Ladders board that had pictures on it. One was of a uniformed keeper at London Zoo. To me then, that picture represented a mysterious London and I couldn’t guess that I would one day live there. I often remember that picture.

    Nowadays I proudly say I am “from” London and, if pressed, that I “lived in Brighton as a child”. I think we often forget that places have a dimension in time as well as dimensions in space. Once we leave a place, it slides gently into the past, taking our “from” with it.

    I think it must be sad to live in a place and not be able to embrace it wholeheartedly.

  4. Is being born in London (however defined) a necessary qualification for being a “proper Londoner”? Some of us who have come from outside London to start with have subsequently become permanent residents and thrown in our lot with London, so to speak, so that we feel we too are now “proper London”.

    Tigger and I travel to many cities, and there are some beautiful and exciting ones to travel to, but I always feel London pulling me back.

    • London wouldn’t be what it is without people coming here from all over the globe, let alone the UK. I think you’re 100% right, there is something like “earned Londoner” status and you can be born anywhere and get that status (something I think you can “award” yourself). But don’t all those people that were born elsewhere still class themselves as also being from that place? A great friend of mine is from Portsmouth and loves to view himself as a Londoner, but his roots are still strong to the south coast. At the end of the day, it doesn’t matter either way, but I find it an interesting debate, and great sport to wind up those that seek to define themselves by how London they really are.

Leave a Reply

