suck my goldman sachs

Ha! I’ve tried to avoid politics for a while, but sometimes you just can’t avoid it.  No sooner have I rejoined the Labour Party to try & help that nice Sadiq Khan stay as my MP, than I’m seeing politics everywhere.  There I was minding my own business in N16 having dropped off a very nice lady in Foulden Road (a rare and exciting event in itself), and as I cruised down Stoke Newington Road I couldn’t help noticing the poster(s) you now see in the picture to your left.  And I had to stop and take a picture.  Well, when I say stop, I actually mean I did a u-turn to annoy local drivers, then another one just in case I hadn’t annoyed enough of them and then got quite a few strange looks from the people at the bus stop while I took a couple of photos.  Well I knew that some of you would enjoy the poster, whatever your political allegiance, and I pride myself in having the common touch with these things.  See what I’m doing here, I’m going all electionspeak on you.  Much as it might annoy some of you, it’s going to be pretty difficult to avoid this whole election thing for the next month or so, so in amongst the “you’ll never guess who I had in my cab posts”, I’m warning you now, you’ll also be getting some stuff about the election.  I’m not going to talk about what I believe in, thats not for this blog, but I think it would be remiss of me not to bring things like this to your attention.  I hope you agree.

4 thoughts on “suck my goldman sachs

  1. I didn’t know that there was a right wing cabbie stereotype? Is this particularly true in London, or throughout the world? If I had to designate myself to a particular party I would have to consider myself a republican (a right winger if you must.) Seems more and more that the words “Republican” or “Right Wing” are used in a pejorative manner… I don’t quite understand why. Although, I would assume that perhaps people in the EU would lean to the left given some of the social policies.

    Anyways, I stumbled on your cab blog and wanted to say hi. I drive a cab in San Diego (California) and started a blog of my own recently. Take a look if you get a chance – I linked back to your site.

    http://corruptionincortez.blogspot.com/

    – Henry

  2. Nice to see a blog by a London cabbie. Guess you could be a sort of roving reporter, reporting on all the sights and sounds in London town. Nice blog.

  3. I wouldn’t be shy about political comment if I were you. Use it as an opportunity to correct the right wing cabbie stereotype – just try not to bang on about it ALL the time.

    It’s pretty difficult to separate life and politics.

    Enjoying your writing, by the way.

    • Tried to reply from my iphone but failed miserably…..this is what I said…….!

      Thanks for the comment, always appreciate anyone making the effort. And you’re right, the main reason I re-joined the Labour Party was to put my money where my mouth is, so to speak. So to not reflect that on my blog would be a bit daft, will make sure it doesn’t become a lecture though…

Leave a Reply

